WESLEY CHAPEL, FL – If you needed another reason besides common sense to not run a stopped school bus, Florida law makers are giving you a financial reason.
The School Bus Safety act was signed in to law by Gov. DeSantis this week and creates increased penalties for passing a stopped school bus. The new fines are nearly double the pre-existing fines. Passing a school bus with stop signs out will now cost as much as over $500 in fines (once court costs are factored in) and can include court ordered driver improvement schools and more.
Additionally, for a second or subsequent offense within a period of 5 years, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall suspend the driver license of the person for up to two years.
Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from the Wesley Chapel Community Website.